What the Enemy Tells Us

I like to match up my most super serious blog posts with absolutely ridiculous memes from Saturday Night Live

I did a terrible job today.  I am never going to get anything done.  I’m sure my husband is disappointed in me.  This house is embarrassing.  My friend/sister/acquaintance is so much better at this than I am.  I am ruining my children.  I will never be good at this.  I’m never going to be happy as a mom.

What does the enemy tell you?

It’s a lie.

It’s hard to recognize the enemy’s lies when we are tired, when we are lonely, when we are emotionally drained, when we’re not sure what we’re doing.  But … motherhood can often leave us tired, lonely, emotionally drained, and unsure of what we’re doing.  So, maybe even more now than at other times of our lives (past and future), we are vulnerable to attack.

Not only are we vulnerable – we’re a prime target.  Motherhood isn’t just tiring and lonely; it’s also life-giving, sanctifying, sacrificial love.  We are giving our children life and raising them to take part in the kingdom of God.  In turn, we are being molded (or burned!) into better, more loving, more generous, holier versions of ourselves.

This is our Father’s work!  The enemy is furious.  The enemy wants to stop us.

Given all this – that we are particularly vulnerable, and are prime targets – we should expect that the enemy will be putting lies into our minds.  We should be on the lookout – and we should be ready to fight back.

Over the next few weeks I want to write here about some things that have been on my heart lately – mainly, about joy and how we can have more of it in our lives.  But for the moment, dear friends, I just want to encourage you to listen, and to recognize the lies that the enemy tells you.

“Put on the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.  For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.  Wherefore take unto you the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.” – Ephesians 6:11-13

5 thoughts on “What the Enemy Tells Us

  1. Thank you, Sheila. I didn’t know that the enemy uses that we’re not sure of what we’re doing. That clarity is helpful to me.
    2 weeks ago, I suddenly realized with great clarity that Satan wants to ruin my marriage. So often, I think of his work in my life as like a fly: buzzing in and out annoyingly, but just with minor temptations. Then we had the weirdest 3rd anniversary ever (long story), and I suddenly saw what he was trying to do. He’s really really really evil! What he wants for us and our loved ones is complete destruction. I think that sometimes trivializing his work is part of his plan, so that he can fly under the radar.
    I look forward to exploring future posts with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes!!! Wow. You are both so right and looking back on the past few weeks and months, I can see Satan’s activity so clearly in the ways you described and more ways. It’s tempting to be overwhelmed by it all…and even afraid. But I am not! I am encouraged and excited to be more aware and take action. Looking forward to the next posts too!

    Like

  3. Thank you for this reminder Sheila. It is not only our own psychological insecurities but the work of one who would like to see us squirm and despair. Jesus I trust in You.

    Like

  4. So true! I was inspired by the sharings from Jeanne DeCelles’ wake to become a more discerning woman of God in my everyday life. Praise God for the hope He gives us through His victory over Satan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

