another job description

IMG_4383
bouncing on the hotel bed … moving too fast to get a good photo!

A couple months ago, MC shared a great job description for us.  Here’s another one – a Scripture that God brought to my attention one Sunday morning:

“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved,

heartfelt compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience,  

bearing with one another and forgiving one another, if one has a grievance against another;

as the Lord has forgiven you, so must you also do.  

And over all these put on love, that is, the bond of perfection.  

And let the peace of Christ control your hearts, the peace into which you were also called in one body.

And be thankful.  

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, as in all wisdom you teach and admonish one another, singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.  

And whatever you do, in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

– Colossians 3:12-17 (NAB)

When I heard these words I was moved to strive for these qualities (compassion etc.) in my relationship with my children, and to spend more of my time at home singing hymns (one of my fave things to do anyway.)  I hope these sweet words have something for you too!

That’s all I have for you today – I’m on vacation this week.  God bless you!

One thought on “another job description

  1. “And let the peace of Christ control your hearts…” Somehow, I have never really heard those words befor today. Definitely worth some rumination. Thank you, Sheila!

    Like

Leave a Reply

