grateful.

IMG_4599

When I was expecting my first child, I had a lot of hopes and dreams for what my life as a stay-at-home mom would look like.  In addition to caring for the baby, I would get to know my neighbors, I would form a close community with other new moms, I would make meals for folks that needed them, I would volunteer at the homeless shelter, I would be more involved in my parish … and so on.  A friend assured me that yes, it would also be the perfect time to learn to sew, because I would have all this time when the baby was napping, and eventually I’d run out of closets to clean!  As I told you all a few months ago, that’s not exactly how things worked out.  Part of the sadness of that first year was losing all the things I had hoped for.  But God is good, and the closet-cleaning, getting-involved season of my life has finally come to me.

Yesterday, I dropped off my oldest at preschool, and then came home to put the baby down for her morning nap.  While she slept, I was able to have prayer time, get a few small chores done, and do a little cooking.  Then we took a quick trip to the Y so I could get a short workout in before preschool pickup.  We all had a fun lunch together, then spent some time swinging in the back yard (it’s a gorgeous day!), and then I put both girls down for afternoon naps.  They each usually nap for about two hours, so I was able to get a little rest myself before checking some more items off my to-do list and sitting down to do some blogging.

Some other things on my schedule over the next few weeks:

  • host People of Praise preschool at our house and teach the little ones a lesson about God’s love
  • take my girls to visit an elderly relative
  • make a meal for a family with a new baby
  • watch a friend’s son so she can go to an appointment
  • clean some closets!

… and if I can find the time, I’m even going to do a little sewing 🙂

I’m not sure I can even communicate to y’all what a miracle all this is for me!  Of course it’s a time of challenges too.  The toddler throws a naptime fit more days than not.  The baby is in the not-talking, just-yelling-all-the-time stage.  I always have more things to do than time to do them.  And the aches, pains, & fatigue of pregnancy often force me to do even less.  But in general – I am profoundly blessed right now.

This season won’t last forever.  Specifically, it will end sometime in mid-December, when I will have to re-learn how to cope with sleep deprivation and whatever other challenges the new baby throws my way.  Between managing three kids’ nap schedules and trying to force a double stroller through the winter slush, I probably won’t be leaving the house much.  I’ll focus on getting the laundry done and dinner on the table, and that will probably be my limit.

All the more reason to soak it up now.

Why am I sharing this with you all? – you may or may not be in a season like this.  You may be in a season of burdens or a season of frustration or a season of loss, as I was a few years ago.  I think I just want to offer you (and my own future self, three months from now) hope that you’ll see a season like this sometime.  Life won’t go according to plan, but every once in awhile things will work out.  Keep on hanging in there; your day will come.

3 thoughts on “grateful.

  1. Yes Sheila, you are right. You can count on change. It doesn’t seem long ago that I was living your life, and here I sit today in an empty house, all kids at school and one at college. I have lots of time to clean closets and to devote to my career. I don’t miss those preschool days because what I have now is also enriching and challenging, both. Of course, God might have another plan for either of us waiting just around the corner, shattering hopes and plans in an instant. I think just being mindful and grateful, as you just said, is the key to peace. Live in the now, not yesterday or tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Isn’t perspective helpful? I’ve been thinking a lot about the passage of time and the seasons and micro seasons that are so integral to our lives, and that seeing them from outside ourselves is really a great feat. And this is an accomplishment that’s possible, probably, only through the Holy Spirit, which has such a wonderful, practical application to our daily pursuits and moods! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

