Since We Are Procrastinating with Potty Training

…we are teaching our almost 3 year old other responsibilities! It’s the right thing to do. 😉

Here’s a few:

WP_20160203_16_19_31_Pro

Being a support to her brother.

WP_20160122_12_28_12_Pro

Connecting in other ways with her brother.

WP_20151015_12_03_45_Pro

Holding hands. This of course is more essential on the street. In parking lots I’m training her to “hold the car” if my hand isn’t available.

WP_20160210_12_41_15_Pro

Cleaning up. Actually, ever since I started sortof cleaning, the kids have found it fun. And while we’re on the subject of cleaning: I caught the two little thieves in the dining room. Little Honey gets to grab a plastic cup from the lower kitchen drawer and dispense drinking water for herself from the refrigerator. She was trying to be kind by poring a big cup of water into her brother’s cup (which he wasn’t supposed to have in the first place). Brother doesn’t get that privilege yet, and sister wasn’t supposed to bring the water outside the kitchen. But she helped wipe off the spilled water from the rug. Later, I noticed the big green “turtle” pillow looking very wet. I asked her when this happened. She didn’t exactly respond verbally, but in no time she was back at my side with a towel, saying, “I dry it”. And she did!

WP_20160204_17_25_09_Pro

Drinking from a big-girl (ie:open glass) cup. By the way, does this remind anyone else of Dianna’s expressions in the Anne of Green Gables film where she gets accidentally drunk?  Because it totally seemed like it to me. She was pretty thrilled with the experience. Except instead of red currant wine I gave her Jammin’ Lemon Ginger tea with a little bit of honey. Not spiked. Promise!

WP_20150501_09_49_19_Pro

Dressing herself. She can put on hats and socks all by herself. I found these great socks at Target that have a double thickness, wide top band. Totally perfect for grasping and working over those toes and up the foot. She needs some guidance with pants, tops, and boots, but once started she can usually manage fairly well on her own.

WP_20160122_09_44_26_Pro

Washing the dishes. My basic principal is borrowed from a good friend who teaches math to 7th graders: if they can do it, have them do it for you. As of this month, she’s actually able to push the chair into position all by herself. And she can dunk a dirty dish into soapy water like the best of us; and she enjoys the play, so whenever she wants to “wash bubbles”, I sneak in some dirty dishes. And occasionally I have her wipe stuff down, too! It’s totally worth the inevitable water spillage. (And eventually my floors get cleaned as a result!)

Here’s another (no picture): Ever since my mom opened up Pandora’s box by having her help make Christmas cookies, Little Honey has been really curious about cooking. She wants to help. I figured out that she’s pretty good at taking the loose papery covering off garlic. She can also mix dry ingredients and throw food refuse into the trash pretty respectably. I’m impressed! Now, if only I could buck up and do potty training, we’d be able to sit on the couch and eat bonbons all day!

What responsibilities do you give your toddlers? Am I missing any? I’d love to train for the next stage (other than potty training, of course!).

All the best,

MMC

2 thoughts on “Since We Are Procrastinating with Potty Training

  1. It is the right thing to do! I tried to push it on mine bc “it was time” and it didn’t work so I gave up. Months later when he was ready, he let me know and within 48 hours he was potty trained, it was fast and much easier. So take your time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

