6 ideas for the last week of Lent

IMG_4661.JPG
gratuitous photo of Elizabeth.  Isn’t she cute?

I have really fond memories of doing Triduum as a member of the choir at my old parish.  Before I was married and had kids, I would be at church for choir practice Wednesday and then for Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Vigil and Easter morning.  It was kind of exhausting, but I loved it!  It was so easy to get immersed in the liturgy and really prepare for Easter.

As a mom, it’s a little different.  Pete & I take turns with Holy Thursday and Good Friday, and considering the nursing baby’s bedtime is the same time as Holy Thursday, I might not make it to either one this year.  Someday we’ll do Easter Vigil again, but the aforementioned bedtime makes it impossible for now.  That’s OK though – I’m pretty peaceful about it.  But I spent some time this morning while washing dishes thinking about what my girls and I can do for Holy Week, and I thought I would share some of my ideas with y’all here …

  1. Maggie has actually always been fascinated by Christ’s death, and really loves the stories we have about it.  I was pleasantly surprised that she was so patient and attentive during the extra-lengthy Palm Sunday gospel, and I think part of it was because I explained to her ahead of time that we would be hearing “the story of the day that Jesus died.”  I know she’ll totally be up for reading Jesus Washes Peter’s Feet on Thursday and our Jesus Storybook Bible on Friday and Saturday.  I’m even optimistic that I’ll be able to convince her to fast with me from noon to three on Friday … especially if I spent those three hours playing with her and giving her lots of one-on-one attention!  (You may be thinking, really?  You call three hours “fasting”?  If you are thinking this, you might not have a four-year-old in your home.)
  2. Kendra recommends doing spring cleaning to prepare for Easter, and I’m excited about that too.  Although we’ve been sick for a couple weeks and we’re pretty behind, so “spring cleaning” around here really just means “finally cleaning.”
  3. For any Catholics out there, Confession is always a good Holy Week idea if you haven’t had a chance yet this Lent.  Jenny wrote a great post all about it last week.  I was blessed to be able to go a couple weeks ago, and just over the past few days I’ve seen some unmistakable signs of the Lord’s grace and mercy in my parenting … which is precisely the area I spend most of my Confession time talking about.  Thank you Lord!  Although I’m not planning to go again before Easter, I’ll of course be striving to improve, as always, and I hope to extra-mindful of this mercy the Lord gave me.
  4. Although I didn’t give anything up for Lent, I’m feeling moved to give up dessert for Holy Week.  There, now it’s in writing and I have to commit!  No dessert until Saturday night.
  5. Speaking of dessert, I realized as I was browsing lemon cake recipes on Sunday that I would have to use up all our eggs for baking this week and I wouldn’t have enough for dyeing eggs with my kids.  My brilliant husband pointed out that maybe I could just dye eggs some other weekend.  After all, Easter itself is eight days long, and the whole Easter season is 50 days.  All of a sudden I realized this is the answer to all the Easter baking, crafting, etc. that I wish I could do for this weekend … just space it out.  Rather than having one over-achieving weekend, we can celebrate all season long!  I am pretty psyched about this.  (Yes, I could just buy more eggs.  But I like having a reason not to dye eggs yet!)
  6. Lastly, as I thought about Holy Week and also about what to write on the blog this week, I really felt moved to pray for you, my sisters who read this.  (Any brothers who read it?  I’ll pray for you too.)  I have several specific intentions in mind (like my co-blogger Christine and her new baby!), but mostly I’m praying for the Lord’s grace in your life, whatever that may mean – knowing that we can hardly ever anticipate what it will really mean.

As we go through these last few days before Easter, I encourage you to hope in the Lord, trust in Him in times of suffering, and believe that you will see his victory, both on Easter and in your life!  God bless you all today!

2 thoughts on “6 ideas for the last week of Lent

  1. Amen! Beautifully written, and so many great ideas! Hope we can use some. Also, I totally laughed out loud when I read “so “spring cleaning” around here really just means “finally cleaning.”” It sounds like we are in very good company. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

