Birth Story Part 2: Precipitous Labor

Here is the next installment of my birth story.  If you missed the first part, here it is.

The morning of my due date I felt great!  After a 40 week midwife visit that morning, I got together with a friend and her daughter.  We played outside in the backyard, I made them smoothies, and there were no signs of baby coming.  Later that day, I was getting ready for my mother in law to come into town that evening. I made her turkey chili in the crock pot for dinner and two batches of muffins.  I spend the rest of the afternoon cleaning a bit and rested a bit too.  She arrived around 7:30 in the evening, and ate dinner.  My husband biked home from work around 8:30 in the evening.  Not even and hour passed since he came home, and I felt contractions.  They weren’t horrible, but I suspected my water may be starting to break. but I was not really sure.  Because I tested positive for group B strep, it was important that I get to the hospital to start antibiotics as soon as possible.  I contacted both my midwife and doula to tell them what was up, and the midwife encouraged me to make my way to the hospital to get checked just in case.  I told my doula she could meet me at the hospital because I imagined we had some time.  My husband took a shower, and we gathered last minute items for the hospital.  We also gave my mother in law instructions about our toddler’s routines.  As we prepared to get ready to go out the door, the contractions seemed to be getting more intense with little break in between.  I said to myself, “I sure don’t remember it being this bad at home last time.  This kind of reminds me of the pain level at transition, but then again, its been over two years and I can’t really remember it.”  It got really bad, but being a polite and slightly reserved person with a high pain tolerance, I didn’t really show or fully communicate my pain level.  Eventually, I felt like I couldn’t hold on anymore.  I told my husband, WE NEED TO GO NOW.  Only problem was my contractions were so painful, I couldn’t sit down in the car…  To be continued…

4 thoughts on “Birth Story Part 2: Precipitous Labor

Leave a Reply

